NVQ Level 5 Diploma in Occupational Health & Safety by City & Guilds

TCS provided NVQ 5 Occupational Health and Safety Qualifications is accredited by City & Guilds.
NVQ is not a course and there are no exams.
To gain an NVQ qualification you develop a portfolio of evidence from your knowledge and experience that demonstrates you meet the required level of competence. Thus, you will need access to the workplace to develop the evidence required.
Unlike traditional classroom health and safety training courses, an NVQ qualification is work-based and involves the collection of evidence from your normal day to day activities. This means that candidates must be in a role that allows them to provide this. This will probably be individuals who have already acquired some experience, and candidates must be in a health and safety managerial position, able to influence the health and safety policy and practice of their organisation.

You can start your NVQ at any time and they typically take around maximum 18 months to complete.

Who is this qualification for?
For candidates who wish to develop their skills and knowledge in managing health and safety for the workplace. They will have an autonomous role in their organisation for managing health and safety policy and practice. They will report directly to or be part of the senior management team. They will recommend and implement changes relevant to their role. They will be aware of cost implications and budgetary control.

What does the qualification cover?
It allows learners to develop and practice the skills required for employment and/or career progression in the health and safety sector.

Benefits of Achieving the NVQ Level 5 Diploma
It allows candidates to progress into employment, specialist IOSH qualifications, higher education. It is an alternative route to CMIOSH.
Candidates that complete Unit 611 – Professional development and ethics in health and safety management (optional) will achieve IOSH Graduate membership (Grad IOSH). Once candidates have achieved the Graduate membership, they can gain Chartered Membership (CMIOSH) by taking an open-book assessment and interview.
Candidates may apply to the International Institute of Risk and Safety Management (IIRSM) for membership at the Associate level

Entry Requirements
There are no formal entry requirements for NVQs but:
It is helpful if you have already taken another health and safety course.
You need to have an advanced level of English language skills.
You need to be in a health and safety managerial position, able to influence the health and safety policy and practice of their organisation.

Age restrictions
City & Guilds does not accept candidates aged under 19 years for this qualification

To achieve the Level 5 Diploma, learners must complete 11 mandatory units:
402    Develop and implement effective communication systems for health and safety information
510     Promote a positive health and safety culture
511      Develop and maintain individual and organizational competence in health and safety matters
512      Control health and safety risks
513      Develop and implement proactive monitoring systems for health and safety
514      Develop and implement reactive monitoring systems for health and safety
515      Develop and implement health and safety emergency response systems and procedures
516      Develop and implement health and safety review systems
517      Develop and implement a health and safety audit
518      Behavioral safety in the workplace
610      Develop and implement the health and safety policy.

IOSH Graduate Membership status
To achieve the IOSH Graduate Membership status, learners must also complete the following unit:
611 Professional development and ethics in health and safety management

Elective units
The following units are optional and allow learners to demonstrate their competence in more specific occupational health and safety areas. Learners interested in adding any of these units to their Diploma or requiring further information should inform the company.

519      Influence improvements in health and safety practice
520     Develop, implement and review the organizational health and safety strategy
521      Contribute to health and safety legal actions
522      Manage contractors to ensure compliance with health and safety
523      Develop and implement the health and safety induction process.

Learners can complete units in any order to best suit their current projects and workload.

Initial assessment
To enroll in the City & Guilds NVQ certificate you will need to complete a short self-assessed questionnaire (Skill Scan) before we can accept you on the course. The questions are framed around the NVQ units and will help TCS to decide whether NVQs are right for you and if they are, which one. It will also help you identify any skills gaps, sections where you might have difficulty and the best areas to start your evidence gathering.
It will also help TCS to identify:

  • if you have any specific training needs,
  • any units you have already completed, or credit they have accumulated which is relevant to the qualification.

Assessment process
Time Constraints:
You must finish your assessment within your registration period.  It usually takes maximum 18 months.

NVQ’s are broken down into units, covering core health and safety topics; each unit has its own assessment criteria and you gather evidence to demonstrate you have met the criteria. You will be assigned an NVQ assessor who will guide you on what you need to do and what evidence you need. Your assessor may set you tasks to help you gather the right evidence.
Evidence must be all your own work but is typically things such as documents, video, photographs, witness statements, etc. Your work product could be:

  • risk assessments carried out by you;
  • health and safety training devised and/or delivered by you;
  • results of health and safety inspections conducted by you;
  • results and findings of accident investigations carried out by you etc.

These are just examples of what you may present; however, it is not a definitive list.
You might be assessed by:

  • direct observation of practice by a qualified assessor or by the expert witness for occupational specific units;
  • examining the evidence by an assessor;
  • questioning or witness by an assessor.

TCS provides an e-Portfolio system for you to upload your evidence from anywhere at a time that suits you – 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. After you upload your evidence your assessor can view and assess it online. You will achieve your NVQ when you have covered the required number of units and your achievements have been confirmed by internal and external verifiers.

This qualification is graded Pass/Fail.

Upon completion of the NVQ requirements, candidates will be awarded an official City and Guilds accredited NVQ Diploma Level 5 in Occupational Health and Safety Practice. A separate certificate will detail all individual units completed as part of the overall health and safety NVQ programme.

How to apply:
You will need to complete the skill scan for your course appointed by the training centre.

Skill Scan for NVQ Level 5 Diploma
Once completed, the Skills Scan result will be assessed by the training centre and you will be contacted for further recommendations. People who fail in Skill Scan will be recommended for further training before they enroll for NVQs.
We won’t let you hand over any money until we’re sure NVQs are right for you.

Register form

More course